Honoring Dizzy Reece

Jeremy Pelt celebrates pioneering trumpeter Dizzy Reece with a very special video tribute created for the festival. Includes testimonials from some of our generation’s greatest players.

FONT’s annual Award of Recognition has honored creative pioneers and revolutionary teachers who have made remarkable contributions to the field over their lives, often without receiving any recognition ever before.

Past awardees have included Wadada Leo Smith, Laurie Frink, Bobby Bradford, Kenny Wheeler, Charles Tolliver, Raymond Mase, John McNeil,
Tom Harrell, Jimmy Owens, Baikida Carroll, Randy Brecker and Enrico Rava.

This show is premiering on Sept 9 at 7pm ET.