Festival 2021

Festival of New Trumpet Music 2021 and Dave Douglas present the 19th season of new brass music, from September 8 to 15, featuring trumpeters from 15 different countries and honoring Randy Brecker with the Award of Recognition 2021. Brass Without Borders has become the theme of this year’s festival and once again brings together the worldwide trumpet community, at least virtually.

All performances will be streamed for free on our social media channels at 7pm (ET) and will be accessible later in our archive. Donations are very welcome to ensure the future of the festival.

Festival of New Trumpet Music 2021 is particularly proud to support gender parity on the instrument and in the field. For the first time, male and female artists will be presented in equal numbers. This important development continues the festival’s dedication to the broadest possible view of what constitutes trumpet music, and who can make it. There is always more work to do, but this is a wonderful development for the field.

September 8, 2021

Hermon Mehari (France)
Hermon Mehari (tp)

Axel Dörner (Germany)
Axel Dörner (tp/electr)

Balkan Paradise Orchestra (Spain)
Alba Careta (tp), Berta Gala (tp), Mila González (tp), Eva Garín (cl), Laura Lacueva (cl), Alba Ramírez (frh), Maria Cofan (tb), Maria Puertas (tuba), Olivia Casas (tuba), Eli Fàbregas (perc), Núria Perich (dr)

September 9, 2021

Kali Rodriguez-Peña (USA/Cuba)
Kalí Rodríguez-Peña (tp), Kazemde George (ts), Gabriel Chakarji (p), Hamish Smith (b), Zack O’Farrill (dr)

Gunhild Seim (Norway)
Chattermark – Gunhild Seim (tp), John Lilja (b), Signe Christine Urdal (video)

Milena Casado (Spain/USA)
Milena Casado (flh/comp), Dani Pérez (g), Manel Fortiá (b), Ramon Prats (dr)

September 10, 2021

Birgit Ulher (Germany)
Birgit Ulher (concept/trumpet/radio/speaker/objects)

Richard Nant (Argentina)
Richard Nant New Quintet – Richard Nant (tp/perc/comp), Ricardo Cavali (ts), Alvaro Torres (p), Matias Mendez (eb), Sergio Verdinelli (dr)

Sarah Wilson (USA)
Sarah Wilson (tp/voc), Charles Burnham (vl), John Schott (g), Myra Melford (p), Jerome Harris (b), Matt Wilson (dr)

September 11, 2021

Verneri Pohjola (Finland)
Verneri Pohjola (tp), Mika Kallio (dr)

Suzan Veneman (Netherlands)
Suzan Veneman (tp/flh), Alvaro Artime Jimenez (tp/flh), Gidon Nunes Vaz (tp/flh), Kurt Weiss (tp/flh), Tijs Klaassen (b), Wouter Kühne (dr)

Audrey Powne (Australia)
Audrey Powne (tp), James Bowers (keys), Myka Wallace (dr)

September 12, 2021

Yazz Ahmed (UK)
Workshop, 2:30pm ET

Lina Allemano (Canada)
BLOOP – Lina Allemano (tp), Mike Smith (live-processing/effects)

Sheila Maurice-Grey (UK)
Sheila Maurice-Grey (flh), Renato Paris (keys), Arthur O’Hara (b)

Lukas Frei (Switzerland)
Lukas Frei (tp), Simon Spiess (ts), Jeremias Keller (b), Fred Bürki (dr)

September 13, 2021

Delbert Anderson featuring DDAT (USA)
Delbert Anderson (tp), James Pakootas (voc), Mike McCluhan (b), Nicholas Lucero (dr)

Adam Cuthbert (USA)
Adam Cuthbert (tp/electr)

Emily Kuhn (USA)
Emily Kuhn (tp), Ben Cruz (g), Meghan Stagl (p), Kitt Lyles (b), Gustavo Cortiñas (dr)

September 14, 2021

Mary Elizabeth Bowden (USA)
Mary Elizabeth Bowden (tp), Bora Ryu (p), Reena Esmail (comp), Vivian Fung (comp), Alexandra Pakhmutova (comp)

Mao Sone (Japan)
Mao Soné (tp), David Bryant (p)

September 15, 2021

Randy Brecker (USA)
Randy Brecker (tp), Ada Rovatti (ss), Gil Goldstein (p)

Award of Recognition